- Offices and Departments
- Sheriff’s Office
- Firearms and Weapons
Firearms and Weapons
Firearms and Weapons
Issuance of weapon permits in the State of Iowa.
The State of Iowa has transitioned from a "may issue" state, in which permits to carry weapons were issued at the discretion of the Sheriff, to a "shall issue" state where permits to carry weapons are granted unless there are circumstances that dictate that the Sheriff deny a permit to carry a weapon.
For more information regarding the New Weapons Permit Law:HF756-Effective July 1, 2021
How to obtain a weapons permit:
For a concealed weapons permit, you may submit an application online at:
ONLINE PERMIT TO CARRY
*Please note that the online permit to carry website uses the following browsers: IE 9 or higher, Firefox, Safari or Chrome and the online option is not available for the permit to acquire application.
A kiosk is available for permit applications between 8:00AM and 4:00PM, Monday thru Thursday in the lobby of the Story County Sheriff's Office. (permit to acquire applications must be submitted in person)
The Story County Sheriff’s Office is located at:
1315 S. B Avenue
Nevada, Iowa 50201
*Due to the expiration of the Governor's Proclamation on May 2, 2021, permit applications are no longer accepted through the mail.
You must submit an application (found below). When applying for a new concealed weapons permit, please, provide a copy of the applicable training certificate (For more information please refer to the Iowa Permit to Carry Weapons Information section).
You must be at least 21 years of age and a resident of Story County with a picture ID (i.e., an Iowa driver’s license or Iowa ID card) reflecting a Story County address.
If a driver's license does not reflect a Story County address on of the following specific items will be accepted: electric or gas bill, voter registration card, or copy of lease/rental agreement.
The Sheriff’s Office personnel will run the appropriate background checks. There is a $5 service fee for all applications along with associated card transaction charges. It is in person at the Sheriff’s Office that you may pay by cash or check. Approved applicant information will be submitted to the Department of Public Safety who will facilitate the printing of the card, which will be mailed directly to the applicant.
FEES: Permit to Carry to include service fee: New $55.00, Renewal $30 (30 days before and 30 days after expiration date)
Permit to Acquire to include service fee: $30
Questions regarding weapons permits may be directed to the Support Services Division by calling 515-382-7461.
APPLICATION FOR ANNUAL PERMIT TO ACQUIRE PISTOLS/REVOLVERS
Form WP3 (Iowa Residents Only) - For use on or after 09/01/2017. Applications MUST be filed with the Sheriff of the county of residence.
APPLICATION FOR PERMIT TO CARRY WEAPONS
Form WP5- For use on or after 09/01/2017. Applications MUST be filled with the Sheriff of the county of residence (except applications for a Nonresident Professional Permit and applications for a Professional Permit for a state employee whose need to go armed is employment based, which are filed with the Iowa Department of Public Safety).
Forms can be located at the following:
Weapons Permit Information And Forms on the DPS’s website.
Iowa Permit to Carry Information Permit Info
Follow us on