News Flash Home
The original item was published from 9/28/2015 9:32:42 AM to 11/2/2015 11:05:01 AM.

News Flash

Auditor & Elections

Posted on: September 28, 2015

[ARCHIVED] Absentee Voting Now Available for Nov. 3 City Election

Starting today (Sept. 28), all eligible voters residing within Story County municipalities may vote at the Story County Auditor’s Office. Office hours are 8 a.m. – 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. The Auditor’s Office is located on the second floor of the Story County Administration Building, 900 6th Street, Nevada.

The last day to vote absentee in-person at the Auditor’s Office is as follows:
Cities of Ames, Collins, Gilbert, Huxley, Maxwell, Nevada, Roland, Slater, Story City: Monday, Nov. 2nd, 5 p.m (polls open at 7 a.m. on Nov. 3rd).
Cities of Cambridge, Colo, Kelley, McCallsburg, Zearing: Tuesday, Nov. 3rd, 11 a.m. (polls open at Noon on Nov. 3rd).

Citizens of Sheldahl: contact the Polk County Auditor for information.

Voters can request a mailed absentee ballot by filling out the “Official Iowa Absentee Ballot Request Form.” These forms are available at under the Auditor and Elections page.

An absentee ballot received in the mail can be returned by the following methods:

1. Mail—an envelope is provided and postage is pre-paid. The postmark must be no later than Monday, November 2nd.
2. In person—you may deliver your ballot to the County Auditor’s office. The deadline is 8:00 p.m. on Election Day, November 3rd.
3. Designee—you may have someone else mail or deliver the ballot for you. The instructions found in your Absentee Ballot package will include a receipt which you may use for this purpose.

The pre-registration deadline is 5 p.m., Friday, Oct. 23rd in the Auditor’s Office. After the deadline, Election Day Registration rules are in effect.

Additional information is available on the Story County website including polling place locations and hour, sample ballots, voter registration information and poll watching forms.

For more information, contact the Story County Auditor’s Office.

City Election Info Page
Facebook Twitter Email