When can I renew my plates?

One month prior to your renewal month, your renewal month, or the month following to renew without penalty. When the last day of the month that a vehicle registration is due falls on a Saturday, Sunday or a holiday, the payment deadline is extended to include the first business day of the following month.

Prior Month

Registration Month

Vehicle Delinquent

December

January

March 1

January

February

April 1

February

March

May 1

March

April

June 1

April

May

July 1

May

June

August 1

June

July

September 1

July

August

October 1

August

September

November 1

September

October

December 1

October

November

January 1

November

December

February 1


Penalty is assessed at a rate of 5% of the fee due, per vehicle, per month with a $5.00 per vehicle minimum.

Show All Answers

1. How long do I have to transfer a vehicle?
2. What happens if I don't transfer a vehicle within 30 days?
3. Where do I place my new registration sticker?
4. When will I be issued the NEW Regular County Plate design?
5. What does the name connector "and", "or" mean on the face of my vehicle title as it relates to selling my vehicle?
6. Where is the title to my small trailer?
7. How do I apply for a lost or replacement title?
8. What forms of payment are accepted?
9. Does Story County provide Iowa DOT Driver's License services?
10. How does the State of Iowa determine the amount of my registration fees?
11. How do I put my vehicle/plates in legal storage? What is legal storage?
12. When can I renew my plates?