- Offices and Departments
- Property Tax
- Pay Property Tax
Property Tax Payments
Scheduled Automatic Payments
You can now set up "scheduled" or "recurring" payments. You will be able to choose the date that works best for you monthly; decide the amount to pay, or, let the program calculate the amount needed monthly; or, set up the payments to occur semi-annually when due. You can make changes at anytime and best of all - reminders will be emailed to you whenever a transaction takes place.
Set up Scheduled or Recurring Payments
Electronic Property Tax Payment
Property Tax payments can be submitted online. You will need your receipt number which can be found on the most recent tax statement that was mailed to you for the current tax year. If you have misplaced your receipt number, you will be able to find the receipt number on the Beacon website by entering your address, scrolling to the bottom of the page and under "Tax History" your statement and receipt number is located on the right hand side.
To make a one-time payment, please visit Iowa Treasurers.
**Tax Sale Redemptions cannot be paid online.**
**Certified Funds Required - Notice of Tax Publication & Pending Tax Sale**
Certified funds are required for delinquent property taxes effective May 1st to the Friday prior to Tax Sale every year.
In addition to cash or checks, credit and debit cards are accepted (fees apply to cards)* To pay in person, come to:
Story County Administration Building (First Floor)
900 6th St
Nevada, IA 50201
If you choose to mail your payment, make sure that you have the proper U.S. Postal Service postmark date.
Payment with payment stub can be mailed to:
Story County Treasurer
P.O. Box 498
Nevada, IA 50201
Make the check payable to: Story County Treasurer
Payment by drop box after hours can be made at the Story County Administration Building. There are two drop box options. One drop box is in the window directly east of the main entrace. Please use this box for all large envelopes and license plates. There is also a drive up drop box is located on the main drive in the southeast corner of the parking lot.
The drop boxes are checked at 4:30PM on Sept 30th & March 31st, any items dropped after this time will be assessed penalty.
**To avoid publication or tax sale guaranteed funds (Cash, Money Order, or Certified Bank Check) are required.**
**When paying by mail or drop box, always use a check.**
**If you would like a receipt mailed back to you please enclose a self addressed & stamped envelope or email address.**
Applicable Service Delivery Fees - **$20.00 Service Charge on all Returned Payments**
|Payment Type||In Person||Online|
|Cash||No Fee||Not accepted|
|Check / E-Check||No fee for Check / E-check not accepted in office||$0.25 per transaction|
|Debit Card||$2.00 per transaction||Not accepted|
|Credit Card||2.25% of transaction total||2.25% of transaction total|
Follow us on